ONTARIO HOCKEY FEDERATION

400 Sheldon Drive, Unit 9 Cambridge, ON N1T 2H9 T: 226 533.9070 F: 519 620.7476 www.ohf.on.ca





December 14, 2018

Information Bulletin Release 12-10 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Freedom of Choice Between Hamilton AAA Organizations for the 2019/20 Season

CAMBRIDGE, Ont. – Coming into effect for the 2019/20 season players within the residential boundaries of the Hamilton Huskies (Alliance) and the Hamilton Jr. Bulldogs (OMHA) have freedom of choice between the two Hamilton AAA organizations. This means that the current territories of the Huskies and Jr. Bulldogs are to form one singular Hamilton Zone encompassing the two organizations offering AAA hockey. The new zone includes the territories of the following Minor Hockey Associations: Hamilton (Alliance), Ancaster (OMHA), Caledonia (OMHA), Dundas (OMHA), Flamborough (OMHA), Glanbrook (OMHA), Hagersville (OMHA) and Stoney Creek (OMHA).

With regards to trying out, resident players within the Hamilton zone may attend tryouts for either of the Hamilton AAA teams, however they may only tryout for a single team at a time. Players must be either offered a roster spot or released by 23:59 of the fourth day of tryouts. Before undertaking movement outside of the Hamilton Zone, players must be released by one of the Hamilton AAA organizations- a player who tries out for both Hamilton AAA teams must obtain a release from both teams. Players who do not reside in the boundaries of the Hamilton Zone must be released by both Hamilton AAA organizations before undertaking movement through Hamilton. Movement outside the Hamilton Zone is subject to OHF regulations for player movement.

Effective for the 2019-20 season any team Officials currently rostered for the 2018-19 season with either the Hamilton Huskies or Hamilton Jr. Bulldogs may not register or appear on the bench of the other Hamilton AAA team in the next season in the immediately higher age division without the written consent of the Hamilton AAA Zone Organization. Such written consent must be signed by a Hamilton AAA Zone Official and be provided to the OMHA, ALLIANCE and OHF Offices. For the duration of the pilot this same practice will be applied for all team Officials.

This trial will run for a three-year duration, during this time an OHF appointed group will monitor the implementation of these recommendations and if required suggest ongoing amendments to the OHF Directors. The composition of this group will be as follows: one representative from each of Alliance Hockey, GTHL, NOHA, OMHA, Hamilton Huskies and Hamilton Jr. Bulldogs plus a chair, as assigned by the Directors of the OHF.

In addition, the Directors of the OHF have established a temporary moratorium on change of Member requests for Minor Hockey Associations included in the new Hamilton Zone. The moratorium will remain in effect until the conclusion of the three-year trial period. Change of Member requests received prior to November 15, 2018 will must follow the existing Alliance Hockey and OMHA facilitation process.







The OHF has been in existence since 1989 and is comprised of seven Members: the Minor Hockey Alliance of Ontario (Alliance), the Greater Toronto Hockey League (GTHL), Northern Ontario Hockey Association (NOHA), Ontario Hockey Association (OHA), the Ontario Hockey League (OHL), Ontario Minor Hockey Association (OMHA) and the Ontario Women's Hockey Association (OWHA.)

-30-

For more information:

Ali Wilson
Ontario Hockey Federation
Manager, Communications, Content Services, Registration
226-533-9074
awilson@ohf.on.ca